The Center announces 2018 Orlando Diversity Award recipients

By : Jeremy Williams
Comments: 0

ORLANDO | The LGBT+ Center Orlando, Inc. announced March 9 the recipients of the 2018 Orlando Diversity Awards which will be presented at the sixth annual Harvey Milk Diversity Breakfast.

State House Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith was named as the Champion of Equality recipient, the Orlando Police Department’s Chief John Mina was named as the LGBT Ally of the Year and Orlando performer and activist Blue Star was named as this year’s LGBT Trailblazer.

Sam Singhaus — a Central Florida performer, activist and the man behind the legendary drag entertainer Miss Sammy — will receive The Center’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

“These award recipients really highlight the diversity of our community and we are proud to honor them. They have each made a positive impact on our community and make it a better place to live” said George Wallace, Executive Director of The LGBT+ Center Orlando, Inc., in a press release.

Past award recipients have included Orlando mayor Buddy Dyer, clerk of court Tiffany Moore Russell, Ninth Circuit Court judge Bob LeBlanc, Orlando city commissioner Patty Sheehan, OPD Captain James Young, Pulse Nightclub owner Barbara Poma, Orange County mayor Teresa Jacobs, Mary Meeks, Esq., transgender activist Gina Duncan, the Orlando City Soccer Club and Orlando Sentinel journalist Scott Maxwell.

The sixth annual Harvey Milk Breakfast will be on May 16 at Dubsdread Catering in Orlando. Tickets are $45 each and available at More information on The Center, which is celebrating its 40th year, can be found at

Share this story: