St. Pete Pride announces Grand Marshal candidates

By : Steve Blanchard
Comments: 0

St. Petersburg – It may only be early March, but the wheels are already spinning at St. Pete Pride, which released its list of nominees for the 2014 Grand Marshal positions.

Like last year, Pride will have three grand marshals—male-identified, female-identified and organization. Each category has three nominees, and the winners will be chosen by popular vote through

“In 2013, the community came together and gave us three amazing representatives for Tampa Bay’s LGBT community,” explained Eric Skains, St. Pete Pride’s executive director. “And this year, we expect nothing less.”

The nominees are all well-known throughout Tampa Bay and Pride organizers expect a larger voter turnout than in 2013, the first year grand marshals were chosen by the community at large. Voting runs through the end of March and winners will be announced at the St. Pete Pride kick-off event in April. That’s a full month earlier than in 2013.

“It gives us more time to celebrate our grand marshals,” Skains said. “We want the community to know their grand marshals well.”

Each nominee’s bio is listed on St. Pete Pride’s website under the “Pride Weekend” tab. From there, voters can cast their vote—one vote per category.

This year’s nominees in the male-identified category are: Jay Aller with AIDS Service Association of Pinellas, owner of 6S Boutique Andrew Citino, and local advocate and stroke survivor Chris Tate.

Female-identified candidates include: financial planner and LGBT activist Sharon Herman, St. Petersburg City Councilwoman Darden Rice, and Gay and Lesbian Chamber board member Ashley Brundage.

In the organization category, PFLAG Tampa, Balance Tampa Bay and The Stonewall Democrats have all been nominated.

The grand marshals selected will appear at various St. Pete Pride events, as well as ride at the beginning of the St. Pete Pride’s first-ever night parade on Saturday, June 28.


Share this story: